President presented Young Scientist Award and Young IT Scientist Award

On 8 February, President Toomas Hendrik Ilves awarded by way of exception two Young Scientist Awards. The prize was given to UT mycologist Leho Tedersoo and media and communication researcher Andra Siibak. Graduate of the Institute of Computer Science Dan Bogdanov was given the Young IT Scientist Award.

Leho Tedersoo is Senior Research Fellow in Ecology of Biological Interactions at the University of Tartu. In a short period of time he has founded his own research group and become an internationally acknowledged mycologist.

Andra Siibak is UT Senior Research Fellow in Media Studies. For more than ten years she has been engaged in research about the social media. Siibak has been the main implementer of various Estonian and European projects and published numerous publications in peer-review research journals and collections.

For the first time President Ilves also presented the Young IT Scientist Award which was given to graduate of UT Institute of Computer Science, and founder, developer and introducer of the data processing system Sharemind Dan Bogdanov.

Virge Tamme
Press Officer of the UT
Phone: +372 737 5683
Mobile: +372 5815 5392